Skip to main content

New Investment in CASC Program, New Footprint for NE CASC

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

In 2019, Congress approved a doubling of financial support for the national CASC program. This increased funding initially became available last year, and a significant portion of it is now being used to establish a ninth regional climate adaptation science center in the Midwest.

With the creation of the Midwest CASC (MW CASC), the geographical footprint for NE CASC has changed. Eight states that were previously included in the Northeast region now constitute the Midwest region. These states include: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

The Northeast region now encompasses the following fourteen states: Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

“This is an exciting time for the CASC program generally and NE CASC specifically,” said Richard Palmer, University Director for NE CASC. “The increased investment in the CASC program will lead to the delivery of more actionable climate adaptation science across the U.S. And the creation of a new geographical footprint for NE CASC will allow our team to serve our vibrant community of partners and stakeholders even better than we already have. It would be impossible to overstate just how positive this news is for our center.”